The Kindness of Strangers

A thought inspired by the kind and perceptive comments on my last post.  By my reading of blogs like Letting Go. By a woman like Belle who spends her time freely helping.  By the sharing and empathy of all the other blogs I read.  All of which is helping me stay sober.  Nine whole weeks sober and counting.

Horribly over-emotional yesterday. I was out to dinner, chatting, then to my intense surprise – crying.  The tears continued on and off for the rest of the evening along with profound tiredness.  Both inexplicable to me.  Still coddling myself today.  Waiting for the emotional weather to change and being grateful for the kindness of strangers.

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Kindness of Strangers

  1. I have been feeling very emotional lately, am assuming it comes with the territory. Even if it doesn’t, it’s good to have something to blame it on 🙂 Lots of tears, occasionally in public, which I struggle with (particularly since I’m one of those people that once I start, I just can’t stop!). Hang in there. Keep it up with the self care. Hugs. xxx

  2. Nine weeks is awesome! You are going to be ok! Crying is a release, it’s good. We have been stuffing feelings for years, and this is how they often come out. It’s ok. Be gentle with yourself and let the feelings be. I know they are uncomfortable but they will pass. Hang in and sending many hugs!

  3. FitFatFood says:

    Ahhh the crying phase- I think I’m still in it. Nobody warned me tears would come but they did and it’s a very positive sign. They’re cathartic and we’re healing.

    Well done on 9 weeks x x x

  4. Mary LA says:

    Thanks for the mention, following with journey now — take care.

Leave a Reply

