Shared Stories

In real life I am not at all a sociable person.  As an only child solitude and self sufficiency are hard wired into my psyche.  Isolation was key to my drinking. But when I read blogs in which people share their stories honestly and openly I feel such a connection it almost makes me re-think my reclusive nature.  

What prompted this early(ish) Sunday morning thought was the email that Belle shared from a newly sober father who could respond to his daughter’s need for help in a snowstorm in the middle of the night.  This is day 73 for me and tomorrow my daughters start five and half weeks of GCSEs (first set of major national exams in the UK). And for the last 10 weeks I have been there to chat, to commiserate, to listen about the stresses of revision and for the next 5 and a half weeks I will be there to drive them to exams on time, hear how it went, cook them a good home made meal, bake treats, watch a little TV in the evenings to relax.  To be present in their, and my, life.  What a gift.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Shared Stories

  1. FitFatFood says:

    73 days! Amazing. And it’s lovely to hear about your journey- keep posting 🙂

  2. This is great – a fantastic benefit of sobriety, to be wholly there for them, and so important for them at this time in their lives. Good for you. xx

  3. Just found your blog. At 25 days sober I am at the “reading sober blogs 6 hours a day” stage. Brutal on my work productivity. May be saving my life, though. I managed 150 days in 2012, then spent the next year and a half stopping, starting, stopping, hating myself, and so on. This time I’m determined to do it differently. Love your insights. Best of everything to you!

    • SoberLily says:

      Dragonfly, I am so happy to hear I’m not the only one spending lord knows how many hours reading these blogs, and that in fact it’s common enough to constitute its own stage! I’m only on day 3, but I feel like stumbling upon these blogs may have been one of the luckiest things to ever happen to me. I tried a SMART Recovery meeting last night, and although I am in no way knocking the group, I have to say that I’ve gotten far more in terms of motivation and hope from these blogs than from that in-person meeting.

  4. 73 ++++++++ days
    OMG!! i am so pleased for you and your girls. What a wonderful gift to be there for them when they need you most. So rewarding.
    XXX

Leave a Reply

